Professor Anya Oko Anya (Ph.D, D.Sc., D. Litt, FAS, OFR, NNOM) is a multi-dimensional personality, and he is, if a spade must be called by its real name, a sage of no mean repute. Though his academic background is in the core sciences, the venerable professor has, traversed the various strata of life, which places him in good stead to avail his country and the younger generation of his first-hand leadership experience. Prof. Anya was for ten years the founding Chairman Advisory Board, Public Policy Research and Analysis Centre – Organizers of Zik Prize for Leadership and Member Governing Board, Obafemi Awolowo Leadership Award.

A Professor of professors as it would be, Anya spent 37 years in the Nigerian ivory tower. He became a professor at age 36 and was so for 29 years, before retiring in 2002. Among other positions held at the University of Nigeria, Prof. Anya founded the School of Postgraduate Studies and became its first Director and Chief Executive. He is a recipient of Doctor of Science Degree (honoris causa) awarded by two Nigerian Universities and a Doctor of Letters by the third.

Professor Anya has a reputation for transforming many fledgling outfits to blue chip organizations. These include Diamond Bank, where he was a founding Director for 15 years; Citizens Bank; Technology Distributions Ltd, the conglomerate that gave birth to Zinox Computers and Yudala, where he has been Chairman for over ten years. He also served as Chairman, Niger Insurance Co. Plc. (1984-1986); Vice Chairman, Spring Bank (2006-2007); Chairman Nestoil Ltd, a leading indigenous Nigerian company in the Oil Industry (2009 to date); founding Director-General, Nigerian Economic Summit Group and until recently a member of its Board of Directors and Board of Patrons.

Prof. is a Fellow of the Nigerian Academy of Science (FAS), and later became President of the Academy (1999-2001); Fellow, Institute of Biology (F.I.Biol) of the United Kingdom; Fellow of the Linnaean Society of London; Fellow of the Cambridge Philosophical Society. He served as President, Association of Nigerian National Academies; President, Union of African Biologists; founding President, Oxford and Cambridge Club of Nigeria (1996-1997); Pro-Chancellor, Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, Umuahia; Chairman, Alpha Institute for Research in Science, Economics and Development (AIRSED); Chairman, Expenditure Review Committee of the Federal Ministry of Finance; Chairman, Advisory Board of Trustees, The Lifeline Care Association; Member, Board of Trustees, Nigerian International Biographical Centre; Member, Policy and Mobilization Committee, Pan African Tse Tse and Trypanosomosis Eradication Campaign (PATTEC) of the African Union; Member, Presidential Panel on Post-election Violence (the Sheik Lemu Panel); Member, Presidential Panel on Outstanding Constitutional Issues (the Belgore Committee); Member, Presidential Panel on the National Dialogue (the Okorounmu Panel); Delegate to the 2014 National Conference.

In 1992 the Federal Government of Nigeria conferred on Prof. Anya the national honour of ‘Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM), the highest award in Nigeria for distinguished scholastic achievement. The President of Nigeria appointed him in 2000 as Chairman, Governing Board of the Nigerian National Merit Award (NNMA) and was in 2002 conferred with the National Honour of Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR).

Prof. Anya O. Anya is a distinguished Elder of the Presbyterian Church and an accomplished man of integrity.